Astronauts in Hull

Those loveable anarcho-punk misfits the Astronauts asked me to design this poster for a rare venture they’re making north with Asbo Derek next month. Being ‘down with’ the band and having spent much time at the Hull Adelphi in years gone by, I was happy to oblige; it’s a special venue I ought to go back up to more often, run for the right reasons of supporting new music and doing so heroically for 27 years now and counting.

The Astronauts Hull gig poster

The Astronauts are currently Mark and the former Otters of whom I have done work for in the past (some of which you can see here) and again in this poster I wanted to reflect their being antagonistic and anti-establishment / funny. So there’s an altercation here between a toff and an Asbo chap, not sure of his name. I took a bit of inspiration from a book I found on my shelf which had never really come in handy before. Nice pictures though (I couldn’t quite find a font to match, but I wasn’t going to spend all night on it).

Animation for Everyone

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

